A few of my favorite things…

14 Dec

Kelly tagged me about a month ago for a meme to write down 7 of the things that I love in life. So, here goes (not in any order)…

1. Doug. He’s my best friend, my true companion. I love him so much and know that the day I met him 3 years ago was the day I lost my heart completely. Even when things are rough, he’s there for me.

2. Alex. It’s true what they say about your own kids. There is a kind of love that comes from deep within and spills out unconditionally when your baby smiles at you.

3. Traveling. I love to travel and am at my happiest when I am out exploring new places. Even though I haven’t really had a chance to travel in the past few years, in my heart I’m still an explorer and know that someday not only will my backpack and I be reacquainted, but I’ll have at least 2 new and wonderful traveling companions. (Who knows, there may be more if we have another kiddo…)

4. Reading. There is nothing like sitting down with a book and getting totally immersed in another person’s life experiences. (I’m a fan of non-fiction.) Probably has a lot to do with my love of traveling — exploring the world through another’s eyes when I can’t afford to do so on my own.

5. Fiber. The feel of wool between my fingers is one of the most luscious things I can think of. I’ve always been attracted to string, yarn and fabric.

6. Color. I always seem to look at the world through the lens of colors. There is no better eye candy in this world than the gray of a dark stormy sky over the mountains, the crisp variety of greens after a rain shower, or the sherbert-color of a winter sunset. When I was a quilter my favorite thing to do was pick out colors of fabrics for a quilt. The rest of the quilting experience paled in comparison to that initial tango with color.

7. Nature. If I could, I’d live in a cabin in the woods. Although I love the city and am a city-girl, when I’m on a hike or staying in the country I feel like my spirit has been scrubbed clean. It’s hard to stress out or worry when I’m sitting on a rock listening to a brook surrounded by trees rustling in the breeze. Before I was dating Doug I’d go off to the beach, take a hike, or drive to a nearby canyon when I needed to replenish myself.

3 Responses to “A few of my favorite things…”

  1. Eric Roth December 26, 2008 at 7:27 am #

    So healthy!

    After reading your seven favorite things in no particular order, I’ll start my own list. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Rina December 29, 2008 at 4:08 am #

    I just saw your posts about Alex’s surgery and you all getting the flu. Hope you’re all recovered now, and having a lovely holiday break.

  3. janko d. January 1, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    hello katie!
    it is two hours after midnight in this new year. and i finally find some news about you. it`s fantastic! i find your blog and the first piece of news was your alex.
    write me back, please / iano@chello.sk /
    janko d.

Leave a Reply

