It’d be funny if it weren’t so damn scary….

26 Sep

Yes, these days I’ve taken the few minutes I have to blog to write about political things. This whole campaign from the Obama-Clinton race to now has been steeped with nothing but the best drama one can get for free. Since I don’t have a TV, this has been my entertainment.

Political manueuverings aside, it appears that McCain has already won the debate that he may supposedly attend tonight. Yep, that’s right. He already has an ad prepared that has gotten out in the blogosphere. (Unfortunately I don’t have the time to post it here right now…) Either way he looks really foolish calling the debate off and then calling it back on again. That level of decisiveness is something  I definitely want in a leader (<-sarcasm…)

I also love how McCain claims to be helping in Washington when it is his job as Senator! Hmmm. He missed 90% of his votes before but now sees it as imperative to get in on the action? It’s also strange that even though he missed so many votes in DC, according to People Magazine he wasn’t in Arizona much either. Where were you, then John???

I won’t even go into how living in a state next to Canada and across the Bering Strait from Russia is enough to qualify someone for VP. If this is all it takes, then I’d be a shoe-in because I’ve actually lived in both countries not to mention a few others.

What is the most amusing or scary thing about our political world for you right now????

4 Responses to “It’d be funny if it weren’t so damn scary….”

  1. Em September 26, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    Amusing thing? That politicians seem to think that the electorate can’t see through the smoke and mirrors.

    Scary thing? Just how much power *your* votes have over the fate of *my* country.
    (Second in line: how many Canadians are watching the US electoral race so closely and yet paying next-to-no attention to our own elections that are happening in 2 weeks.)

  2. Kelly September 27, 2008 at 3:46 pm #

    LOL – I see Em beat me to it! The scariest thing about your political world is I live next door, and right now your political world is kind of like that guy who sits on his porch with no shirt on and yells at his kids. And the kids leave their big wheels all over the uncut lawn.

    Got my fingers crossed for you as your election approaches!

  3. White Hot Magik September 27, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    Honestly I haven’t had the time to pay any attention lately. So I need to “catch up” and while I know it is still not likely to make a difference I am thinking of a third party candidate again.
    To answer your question, scariest thing to me overall is how much I can see us heading to an Orwellian 1984 type world this week. Perhaps what is scarier is I our whole political process in terms of both parties capable of going there.

  4. Katie October 6, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Em and Kelly, I so understand your fears. It would really be terrible to be next to us if McCain won. Not only would you have even more problems with acid rain and trade, but you’d probably also have a huge influx of Yanks fleeing another term of an inept and corrupt government.

    Nora, I agree that both parties are equally responsible for our heading into a tailspin. I’ve often voted (and am a member of, actually) third party just to try to get other voices into our system.

    Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

