Caribou, Crabs & Bears oh my!

11 Sep

(This is a seriously abridged list of why I can’t stand Sarah Palin…)

5. Her interior design sense is seriously lacking. I mean can you imagine her entertaining heads of state in the VP mansion with caribou heads, dungeness crab & bear carcasses everywhere? (Photo from Huffington Post.)

4. I happen to like and see a need for natural history museums (where the carcasses of aforementioned animals would seem more appropriate) because I think dinosaurs did exist.

3. Can you imagine what anyone who feels threatened enough to issue a formal statement in response to a comment made by Matt Damon would do if a world leader looked at her crossed-eyed?

2. For Palin, travel abroad means going to the continental US.

1. I don’t trust anyone who thinks that they have an ‘in’ on what God’s will is. In some circles this is called delusional thinking.

4 Responses to “Caribou, Crabs & Bears oh my!”

  1. knitplaywithfire September 12, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    Her sense of decorating leaves quite a bit to be desired. Of course, while she has been governor, her family has stayed put in their small town. Maybe she will leave them behind in Alaska if she manages to make it. And of course, the vp’s house is on the national trust list so she would be limited to what she could do to it.

  2. White Hot Magik September 13, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Wow you really dislike her! You know what I wish, we had some sort of good audition process for elected officials. Put them in a situation we could all see and watch them respond. Personally I am sick of all the talk and attacks, but then again it is always like that.

    So after reading this on a purely personal note, I wonder if my last post makes you think I am crazy, and you were polite enough not to comment. I doubt I would ever be so confident in God’s will to pronounce that a pipeline is it. However I do believe in trying to find and follow God’s will for my life. Then again that is my constant problem, I believe in God, that dinosaurs existed, evolution exists but fully believe in Creation that that God designed the world. I never fit fully in one world or the other. Maybe I am just wishy washy.

  3. Katie September 13, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    Thanks for the comments!

    Nora, I sometimes even doubt that a god exists, but then there are times when I really see her in everything so I am really wishy-washy about a lot of things in my life on a really deep level.

    I do, think, though, that war is never God’s will. If anything I feel that violence is a turning away from all that is good and just and giving into the dark side of human nature, which is why I can’t abide with anyone saying a war is something that God would want.

    I know that the Palin ticket must be confusing for many conservative voters. On one hand it would be great to support a woman, but then there is the problem that her politics are so non-woman friendly. This is what the McCain camp wanted — to look progressive with a woman on the ticket but in actuality to have someone who makes Bush almost look liberal. They did this on purpose.

    I didn’t comment on your post because I can respect the process that everyone goes through in their decision-making and can understand some of the confusion that exists in the political area for people who have traditionally been conservative or moderate voters.

  4. White Hot Magik September 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm #

    I am so glad you understood. I was blog writing in my head and I suddenly had a fear that you would mistake my comment as derogatory toward you, when I was really lamenting my seeming failure to fit in. However it is something I like about myself, I am always searching, always learning, not set in stone. Which is why political opinions are a difficult subject for me, because we have a system that aligns people on one side or the other. Something I cannot personally do. For me life often hits somewhere on the middle, and I often see both sides.

    Spiritually, I have lived both extremes in my life, growing up in a conservative Christian home. Straying from that after I left home, coming back toward God but then going back to my choices solely, then being knocked down a hole and only finding my back out through spirituality. Right now I am still stretching, learning and finding my way. I am glad you can respect that while not believing it, as I can respect your view, I’ve been there too.

    Good discussion, thanks! Kiss that baby for me.

Leave a Reply

