Diagnosis…

17 Jul

Temperament.

Yes, it’s official. We got a diagnosis from the pediatrician the other day regarding Alex’s tantrums. It’s just who she is. When she’s happy, she’s the happiest baby in the world. When she’s overstimulated, well, she makes her presence known.

The pediatrician told us that we were doing well handling Alex, though. So seldom do we hear that! (Strangers have a way of saying the most obnoxious things to us…)

What’s been the most obnoxious thing a stranger has said to you??? (Could be about your kid or anything else…)

BTW, here’s kiddo at 19 weeks. Can’t believe she’s already 20 weeks old!

7 Responses to “Diagnosis…”

  1. Em July 18, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    What A cutie! I’m sure you’re doing a great job. How’s life in the suburbs treating you?

  2. knitplaywithfire July 18, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    Well, maybe she will outgrow her tantrums until she is maybe two or three. My youngest nephew is having them now that he is 3. She is cute.

  3. White Hot Magik July 23, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    She is a doll!! I know it is hard, but you will just have to ignore the stares and comments sometimes. If I had a dime for every time I’ve had to haul an unruly child out of a public place. I don’t recall the most obnoxious thing I ever was told. I do recall one time being out with Doug and Dave et all at a restaurant and the little darling in the booth next to us squalling and one of us said something that we didn’t realize was overheard and the mother came unglued on us. I felt bad about it then and feel way worse about it now.

  4. JC July 25, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    She is GORGEOUS! What a sweetheart. My niece had a lot of character when she was a baby as well – once she could start communicating she calmed down a lot. Tantrum-y babies often turn out to be highly intelligent. As White Hot Magik said above, it’s hard, but try to ignore the comments – what do those people know? xx

  5. Kelly July 28, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    What a great face! Glad you’re getting *some* supportive feedback (not just here!) People can be such twits. Like, you don’t have enough to deal with in the moment?

  6. Laurie August 4, 2008 at 2:23 am #

    The most obnoxious thing strangers have said?? Well, how ’bout the most obnoxious thing your SIL has said. Allow me to demonstrate. Ahem. “Enjoy your high-needs child, from one who has been there, done that (and still doing that). It is perhaps in her blood to be so. But, never fear, if nurtured properly (as I’m sure she will be), she will grow into a remarkable and highly intelligent creature. You will actually look back on these high stress days in fondness.”

    Oh. You were asking what was the most obnoxious thing *I* ever heard?? Oh well…that’s different…

    teeheehee

    Seriously though, grab a copy of Raising Your Spirited Child – it was a God-send for me, literally. I have often referred back to it as well. And she’s just as beautiful as ever!!🙂

    And this is a good link to check out too…
    http://askdrsears.com/html/5/T050400.asp

  7. Naoko Tani Fukuchi August 6, 2008 at 5:39 am #

    Alex is such a cutie! I admired her photo here in Japan! My cousin’s kids have quite a temperament, too, and my cousin’s wife is very patient with them. I am impressed by your motherhood, too. Drop me a line when you have a moment and I will do that as well.

Leave a Reply

