Metabo

13 Jun

I just read this article about the Japanese government setting guidelines for what is an appropriate waistline measurement and what is not.

Apparently, in an effort to decrease obesity-related diseases, or me-ta-bo for short, the government is making waist measurements mandatory. Fining companies that have employees that don’t comply.

Even though I think it’s great to have people think more carefully about their weight as it pertains to their health, it seems to be going a bit to far to have such strict rules about what is obese and what isn’t. I could totally see this turning into a nation-wide push for thinness that may lead to a greater amount of cases of anorexia. All too often my super thin Japanese students would tell me how overweight they were.

Also, what about people who are just naturally a little heavier and/or who have medical conditions that warrant the use of steroids/medications that are known to cause weight gain? I had several young students who were just naturally curvy. Who has the right to say that they have to lose weight? It all seems so unfair.

I’d love to hear how you weigh in on this issue.

4 Responses to “Metabo”

  1. Kelli June 16, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Ridiculous!!! Completely ridiculous!!! What else can I say? I’m flabbergasted!!!

  2. Naoko Tani Fukuchi June 17, 2008 at 3:23 am #

    I am quite nervous myself as I have measured myself and found that I have several cm to go to be classified metabo! Who knows when I will get stuck being told to receive treatment for obesity! Thanks for pointing out how ridiculous it is!

  3. Kelly June 18, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    I was in the drugstore the other day – in Canada – and they were giving out free measuring tapes from the Heart and Stroke foundation with the places where your waist measurement should be already marked on them. There were four marks, for caucasian men and women, and for oriental men and women. It’s here too. Only here it will be the insurance companies that enforce our size, I suppose, rather than the government directly.

  4. chezclutter June 18, 2008 at 5:51 pm #

    I got a letter from school telling me my son is overweight. (Uh like I don’t know that. I think they should stay out of it.

Leave a Reply

