One thing you should never offer…

13 May

Okay. So recently I’ve been taking Alex to different play groups and such just so that I can get out of the house and connect with other moms. Generally it’s really fun and I’m meeting a lot of new people, many of whom are really cool.

Yesterday, though, was something else.

I went to a babywearing playgroup I had heard about from someone in my breastfeeding support group. Alex was a little fussy getting out of the car (heaven forbid, the car had stopped!) and was a little upset being put into my homemade mei tai baby sling.

As I was getting toward the group, one woman came up to me and said,

“You should nurse her.”

Well, nursing is such a thing for us. I have a low milk supply and it’s taken Alex a few weeks to get back into nursing since we had to introduce the bottle. To which I replied,

“Um.. Well, I don’t really nurse her.” (Not wanting to get into a lengthy discussion about our routine of nursing-bottle-pumping.)

Her reply, “I’ll nurse her for you.”

????????????????????????????????

I didn’t have the guts to say this but this is what I was thinking….

WHAT MAKES YOU THINK I’D WANT YOUR BOOBY IN MY CHILD’S MOUTH????!!!!

Instead I just looked at her and said, “I don’t think so.”

Geez, some people are just so clueless!

3 Responses to “One thing you should never offer…”

  1. White Hot Magik May 14, 2008 at 1:39 am #

    Seriously? Wow, that is cuckoo.

  2. Sara R. May 14, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Yikes! Well, that is a little presumptuous.

  3. Laurie May 21, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    Wow! I have heard of *very good friends or sisters* nursing each others babies when it was really necessary (like illness or emergency trips, etc) and that seems…well, I could probably do that if it was, again, really necessary.

    But a stranger asking you?? That’s quite out-there indeed! She was serious? She expected you to let her nurse your baby…what, you were supposed to take her word for it that she wasn’t on drugs or have some transferable disease? Did you turn around and get back in the car? LOL

Leave a Reply

