Memory & Politics

12 Feb

Ok. As my pregnancy progresses to the point where kiddo could come any day now, I have found that I forget almost everything…

Last week I left my wallet in a restaurant. Something I have never ever done.

This week I mixed up my job schedule and got a call asking why I wasn’t working. I had written down the wrong date. Again something I have never done before.

But oddly enough, my political memory is still largely intact.

See, there are just some things I can’t forget about.

I remember, for example, when the vote to give Bush authority to go into Iraq was going on. I spent a few weeks emailing every single Senator and quite a few representatives asking them not to enter into the war.

That’s just one thing I remember.

And I also remember the few (barely handful) of politicos who stood up to the administration. Who actually had enough guts to either vote with their conscience or at least speak up honestly even if they were not part of our national legislature.

For me, this election is not about race, it’s not about gender.

It’s about remembering.

(And, as a memory refresher, check out this great op-ed from Colbert I. King of the Washington Post.)

2 Responses to “Memory & Politics”

  1. knittyk8 February 12, 2008 at 6:36 pm #

    I’m in the midst of listening to Al Gore’s The Assault on Reason and re-remembering things I’d sort of blocked out….

  2. Christina February 17, 2008 at 12:09 am #

    I guess when you are pregnant and after a long time afterward, your short term memory is on the blitz! Long term, no prob! And I still forget alot of things these days. So I end up writing on my hand all the things I need to do before I forget them! Though my hand doesn’t look so nice, I get the stuff done! well, most of it!

Leave a Reply

