Hey Diddle Diddle the Cat in a Sling

7 Feb

One of Doug’s coworkers gave us a sling for Alex, which is great, because we’ve been sling shopping and have been daunted by the various choices out there.

So, wanting to make certain I had the thing put together right (they can be quite complex if your hormonal brain is not able to process anything!), I tried the sling out. I used it first with the Abominable Snowman stuffed animal Doug bought for Alex since it’s just about the size of a newborn. While it worked, I discovered that it wasn’t really a good substitute for a squirmy kid. Then I hit upon an idea…

Use Machan the cat.

Machan loves it when I pick her up and is exactly the same weight as a newborn. I put her in the sling and she loved it! She stayed in it purring for a good 40 minutes or more and even let me put her in again later so that Doug could take a picture.

machan in sling

machan in sling 2

I think this baby is gonna be a little sad when kiddo comes along!

4 Responses to “Hey Diddle Diddle the Cat in a Sling”

  1. Jill P. February 7, 2008 at 6:49 pm #

    That is the cutest thing ever! You can see in his eyes that he’s purring… they’re just a little bit squinty šŸ˜‰

  2. Em February 7, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    Wow that’s cute. What a way for a cat to travel! (or just snuggle, I’m guessing…)

  3. thekidneybean February 10, 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    Aw! She looks very comfortable in that sling.
    By the way, the knitting video is very cool. I think I’ll put it up on my blog. too.

  4. Rochelle November 5, 2008 at 1:35 am #

    I’m looking for a sling for my cat! She loves to be carried and hugged and snuggled… what kind of baby sling is that? I don’t want pockets or buckles…

Leave a Reply

