One of The Most Annoying Preggo Questions

31 Jan

Okay. I was warned. People will ask and say really annoying things while you’re pregnant. It’s like the bigger my belly gets the more people think they have carte blanch to say whatever they like. (And from what I hear it gets worse with child-rearing — sigh!)

But I have to say that there is one question that is super amazing annoying, and it’s the first question that most people here in LA ask.

So, do you have the baby’s room decorated yet?

Room? Are these people crazy? Do they not read the LA Times? Do they not realize that in LA we have had an affordable housing shortage for at least the past 7 or 8 years? Not just that, but are they not aware of the idea of attachment parenting and how awful it would be for a little one who’s been nice and cozy in her mama’s belly for 9 months to be all alone in her own room!

My response to this question is…

“Well, um… we have the baby’s corner set up.”

For that’s how it is here in LA.

3 Responses to “One of The Most Annoying Preggo Questions”

  1. Rina January 31, 2008 at 8:47 pm #

    I think the reason that there’s so much license to say whatever to a pregnant woman is that motherhood is so politically and culturally colonized–whether from the right or from the left. Up here in over-educated, middle class enclaves of Berkeley/Oakland, I’m rather alarmed by the way in which “progressive” parenting philosophies have re-intensified pressure on women to subjugate themselves to a biologically determined nurturing role. (I’ll hold my tongue on the consequences for kids.) Kind of makes me dread the day when I have to face the onslaught of people telling me how to parent.

  2. leucantha January 31, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    We set up one although it wasn’t much we didn’t go all out. Then didn’t use it much until he was 9 months older or more. I found it much easier to keep them in my room at night to nurse. Thankfully the hubby helped transition them to their own bed at night around that age, or I would be like a woman I met recently who still has her third grader and two babies in bed with them. As far as the stupid comments go, just ignore what you can, every once in a great while someone says something nice or helpful.

  3. Casey February 8, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    Oh, I sure don’t miss all those annoying questions! We do have a room for baby but she has really only started sleeping there (for most of the night, but not all) recently, at 8 months old. It was so great to have her in our room! Ironically, her room is the only room that is really not babyproofed so while it’s cute and pretty, she can’t play in there!

Leave a Reply

