Can I have a little whipped cream with that, please?

9 Jan

It’s become a running joke between Doug and me that one of these days I’ll start putting whipped cream on my main course. I guess in a way, though, Doug’s lucky. Remember the cliché about the pregnant woman who sends her husband out at 2 in the morning to get ice cream, dill pickles and sardines? I want none of that (although I’m never one to turn down dill pickles, but that’s something else all together).

I just want whipped cream.

I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s the frothy feeling of the white creamy tufts that come swirling so neatly out of the can melting in my mouth. It could be the sensation of slightly fatty sweetness as it hits my tongue. But, if I don’t have whipped cream (light or non-fat, of course) at least once a day I start to suffer what may actually be defined as acute withdrawal systems.

[And, it’s not just whipped cream. I also long for peanut butter and dark chocolate too. Although not all of them together – or at least not always — for one can’t really have peanut butter without it being dipped lusciously in chocolate!]

I’ve always loved whipped cream but have never really made it a staple in my diet before. Having to watch my carbs, though, has made me feel really unsatisfied each time I eat a meal. I am a whole grains type of person with a mostly vegetarian diet who has been reduced to eating just a few starchy carbs a day and a lot more meat products.

My body’s gone into a small revolt in the process.

Turns out, though, that whipped cream, while having little nutritional value, is super low in carbs. So, not only does it make me feel good, but it doesn’t spike my blood sugar at all.

I don’t know what it is, but whenever I put it on my food (or in my decaf – that’s a must too!) I instantly feel full, sated. Happiness fills not just my tummy, but my entire being.

In spite of Doug’s jokes, though, I think for now, it might just be easier to treat whipped cream as just a side dish — a little dollop straight out of the can is often just right!


Technorati Tags:

3 Responses to “Can I have a little whipped cream with that, please?”

  1. knitplaywithfire January 9, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    So are you craving real whipped cream or the Readi Whip variety? Or my favorite Cool Whip? It may the fat in the whipped cream giving you the full feeling. But at least it is sardines.

  2. Rina January 9, 2008 at 8:46 pm #

    Mmm, cream….. My fave is fresh whipped, with just a touch of sugar and good vanilla. But if I had that all the time I’d blow up like a balloon. It sounds like you’re enjoying your pregnancy, I’m glad to hear.

  3. geckogrrl January 11, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    I think actually every type of whipped cream works for me these days. I love cool whip, but would be poor if I used that (it goes pretty quickly). Fresh cream is the most desired, but I can’t make it up quick enough to satisfy me. So, for now, it’s whatever I can get at Trader Joe’s. (A 60 serving can of real low-fat cream, haven’t found anything better!)

Leave a Reply

