First Date Anniversary

4 Jan

The first Friday in January will always hold a special place in my heart — it was Doug and my first date.

Two years ago neither one of us was really dating anyone seriously. I had had a really flirtatious week between Christmas and New Year’s that year, being asked out by more guys in that week than in my previous 5 years in LA. But I wasn’t really interested in anyone and instead decided on December 30th to go to a movie with a group called LA People Connection (now My People Connection — they’re national, check them out!) It’s a social events group where you can go and do fun stuff in the area with other people. I had been doing things with LAPC for a few years, but this one particular night turned out to be really special.

I showed up at the movie I had signed up for, Munich, not really expecting to meet any cool people, just hoping to get out of the house for an evening. I was one of the first people to show up and as we went around and did our introductions, a really nice tallish and good-looking blond guy comes up and introduces himself to me right away. I didn’t think anything of it at first but found myself doing small talk with him and found out he lived in Pasadena and was into film.

We all bought our tickets and somehow Doug and I wound up seated together slightly apart from the rest of the group. We talked about our jobs, travel and films. I was actually worried that I was being a little too flirty with him, but found myself really liking him. He even appreciated my comment about Spielberg films and how toward the end there is always some scene or another that ruins the pacing of the film.

After the movie all the people from the group went out to eat. I was hoping to sit next to Doug, but somehow ended up on the other side of the table. When it was time to go home, so other guy offered to walk me to my car, even though I was hoping it was Doug (his car was in the opposite direction).

The next day I got an email from Doug asking if I’d like to get together for coffee sometime. I loved the fact that he wasn’t the sort of guy who waited 5 days to find a way to connect with me! I gave him my number and we spent most of the next week on the phone for several hours at a time.

Our very first date was at LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art). I was a few minutes late because of traffic (which was embarassing for me, but Doug was cool about it). He’d already bought tickets for the Cezanne exhibit that was going on. Walking through the exhibit felt like one of those movies where the camera circles around the characters making the whole scene seem like a dream. I don’t remember a single painting, all I remember is our conversation and that knee-knocking sensation of being swept off my feet.

I hadn’t felt like this in a long time.

We then went out to a soba place for dinner and wound up talking until the restaurant closed (maybe 3 hours). We talked about everything and somehow I knew that this guy was special, different from the other guys I’d met in LA.

I was too nervous to kiss Doug, so we parted with a simple goodbye. He called me a couple of days later from the Palm Springs Film Festival to say what a good time he’d had.

Such a nice and simple first date but the best and most dear one of my life!

2 Responses to “First Date Anniversary”

  1. Jill P. January 7, 2008 at 8:09 pm #

    What a sweet story! OG and I are celebrating our five year anniversary of our first date today. Ah, January love🙂

  2. geckogrrl January 7, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    How fun! Congrats to you both! January has to be the most romantic month…

Leave a Reply

