There’s Been Some Knittin’

6 Dec

I know I haven’t posted a lot recently. It just seems like everything takes just a little bit longer to get to these days. But, there has been a lot of knitting happening (mostly when I work at my new job grading oral tests online. Since I’m a visual and kinesthetic person, knitting keeps me from getting frustrated at just having to listen to things…)

Here’s the first FO. A calorimetry done in my handspun from Fleece Artist. I call it ‘Spumoni Calorimetry‘.

spumoni-yarn.jpg

Spumoni Handspun (Fleece Artist Roving, spindle spun)

spumoni-calorimetry.jpg

Spumoni Calorimetry

I also finally finished up a sweater I have had waiting to be seamed. It’s the first long sleeved sweater I’ve knitted with a commercial pattern from The Yarn Girl’s Guide to Simple Knits and with set-in sleeves. I have to say that even though I got stitch gauge and for row gauge measured it against myself as I went along and blocked it out when I was done, I still don’t like the way the arms turned out. It was a good experience to try something like this to learn a few new design techniques (never had done set-in sleeves before) but I prefer to stick to my own devices and knit/design as I go. I used Knitpicks Wool of the Andes Bulky.

coat-sweater.jpg

Coat Sweater

The other FO I completed recently was a basic pair of toe-up socks with Plymouth Sockotta. Because we watch and go to a lot of films, I find that even though I love working with fun surface design on my socks, I actually get more done if I have something that is just straight stockinette. So, because these are super basic, they are done. (My other socks, however, are still languishing in my WIP pile.)

Socks

Sockotta Socks

And a few WIP pictures…

Some Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers from Stitch and Bitch Nation.

Fingerless gloves

Fingerless Gloves

And the kitty and I working on the third side of our our baby blanket border (before I frogged it for the third time…)

Katie and Machan Knitting

Technorati Tags: ,

4 Responses to “There’s Been Some Knittin’”

  1. Em December 6, 2007 at 9:06 pm #

    I really like the spindle-spun yarn! Calorimetry is a great pattern for those “little bits” and “mini-skeins” we acquire, isn’t it?

    I’m impressed that you can knit and cat-cuddle at the same time! Mine are just too pushy to let me knit 🙂

  2. knitplaywithfire December 7, 2007 at 6:18 pm #

    It always seems like knitting projects finish up at the same time. I like the FA yarn you created.

    What will kitty do when she can no longer share your lap?

  3. Ellen B. December 8, 2007 at 12:59 am #

    Oooo…pink…yummmm!

  4. thekidneybean December 9, 2007 at 6:13 am #

    I have wanted to knit the Calorimetry for a while, but my knitting isn’t up to par yet. Also, the purple socks look great! I love the yarn.

Leave a Reply

