Pumpkin Carving

31 Oct

I think the last time I actually carved a pumpkin (pre-Doug, that is) was probably when I was about 8. We used to paint our pumpkins because they would last longer and were far less messy (mom was practical, I have to say).

So, the whole pumpkin carving thing, while fun, seems like a lot of work. I never know what to carve and actually get a lot more pleasure out of watching other people create their designs and (literally) dig in. This is a rare thing for me, because I hate to be left out of anything crafty. But in this case I feel that pumpkin carving is better left to the experts.

On Sunday two of my SnB friends, Johnnie and Peggy, had a pumpkin-carving party. It was really fun, and I so loved seeing what each person came up with. Doug wound up carving our pumpkin because he is truly good at it in a way that I can never be. He decided to make a castle with a moon and clouds behind it (on the back side of the pumpkin). Lit up it looks really cool!

Castle

And then there were all the others — a cat, some scary faces, a tree.

Behold the makers!

Jenna and cat
Top L-R, Peggy, Johnnie, Jen, Sarah; Bottom, Jenna

And, no party put on by Johnnie and Peggy is complete without tons of yummy food! There were spider cupcakes, a pumpkin grave cake, and my favorite — fingers!

Fingers

Oh, and Atticus the kitten even got into the mood (perhaps wishing he were all black for the occasion??)…

Atticus

One Response to “Pumpkin Carving”

  1. ingrid November 6, 2007 at 2:36 am #

    The pumpkins are great but those fingers are a little scary for me! It looks like it was a fun Halloween.

Leave a Reply

