Countdown….

12 Aug

Three weeks from today. That’s when the wedding is. Even though we’ve been trying to keep things small and simple, it still seems that things crop up unexpectedly. I really don’t know how people who plan weddings with hundreds of people do it (or maybe they don’t and that’s what makes it easier???).

It’s not just the planning. It’s also the neverending unpacking and cleaning which is sometimes put on hold because it’s too hot outside or because we’re so busy with other things. Luckily our closets are large, so maybe we can just stuff things away for a couple of days and no one will notice??? (Of course, having said that, I don’t put it past people to peer into our closets now…).

There’s so much I want to do — spin, knit, personal writing, blog, etc., but it’ll have to wait a month or so.

In some ways it’s sad when I hear myself saying “Oh, I just wish Sept. 2 would happen, so that I could rest!”

It kinda takes the excitement out of the whole process.

Luckily, I don’t have any picture in my mind of ‘the perfect wedding’ so whatever happens will be fine with me!

6 Responses to “Countdown….”

  1. Ingrid August 13, 2007 at 12:47 am #

    Oh my goodness…wasn’t it just yesterday we were reading your engagement story? Time flies! My one piece of advice is when the big day gets here, take a few moments to really take it all in. The day comes and goes really fast, make sure you and your new hubby take a few moments to take a deep breath, relax and enjoy. I can’t wait to read how it all turns out. Congrats again!

  2. Jen the Knittingspaz August 14, 2007 at 1:20 am #

    Hey… my brother in law is getting married the day before you. And I have to imagine you’re probably feeling about the same as he is. If it makes you feel any better, they invited 500 people even though their original budget for the wedding was $5K. I think that budget has since been adjusted or they are remarkably getting a WHOLE lot of freebies.

    Thanks also for the comment about vegetarianism. I hadn’t heard anything about phytoestrogens, so I’ll have to look into that.

  3. myhobbyisyarn August 15, 2007 at 1:44 pm #

    Weddings are so much work, aren’t they? I had a small wedding, but I thought planning was overwhelming. Shove everything into the closets. You just moved, and it’s your wedding, so everyone should give you a break. Are you going on a honeymoon?

  4. geckogrrl August 15, 2007 at 5:30 pm #

    Thanks for the comments, you guys! Yes, it does seem like yesterday that I got engaged (we decided to get married 5 months after the engagement and not drag it out into a monstrous planning affair…) Jen, I can’t believe your brother in law wants a wedding for 500 people for 5k. That’s our budget for 35!

    More on the honeymoon in another post =)

  5. Calypso August 15, 2007 at 11:59 pm #

    Good luck for the 2nd. I empathise completely – I wish I had gone with the original plan of eloping – it would have been so much easier!!

  6. Rina August 24, 2007 at 1:32 am #

    OMG, how did I miss this post? I hope you’re not going absolutely crazy with the wedding preparations. For mine, several months elapsed between the (small party) ceremony and the (large party) reception, which cut down loads on the work. Anyhoo, good luck!

Leave a Reply

