So hot…

30 Jul

It’s the heat. That’s why I haven’t been blogging. It seems like for each mile I’ve moved inland (30), the summer temp has also increased by a degree. I’m not used to the hot, dry, heat. I’m not used to living in an apartment that absorbs the heat like a sponge (and with an almost worthless air conditioner).

The other day I realized that during the heat of the day my computer feels like a hot iron underneath my fingers. The only way to get my job (writing) done is to find a cool cafe or to go to the library. Even there the heat seems to sink into my bones.

I finally unpacked my spinning wheel last week, but the last thing I feel like doing is working with fiber these days. Seems like I’m doing a lot more reading about knitting and spinning than the actual craft itself. Might have something to do with fiber holding in heat (even the silk I spin seems hot to the touch — it gets to about 80 degrees in the apartment).

I got tagged by Kate at Kniterations to write about 8 random things. I’ve done that in a previous post, so if anyone out there hasn’t done this meme, feel free to tag yourself on my behalf. Oh, and for any of you who’d like to try the Birthday Meme, consider yourself tagged as well!

In other news, the wedding is fast approaching — just about 4 weeks away. Most of the big stuff has been taken care of but there are so many smaller things to get done. And with the heat it seems doubly hard to do. The fridge is on the fritz too, meaning one more expense during a month where money is tight.

I think the heat intensifies everything, making it seem much harder and heavier than it really is. Can’t wait for October to come around!

3 Responses to “So hot…”

  1. tiffany July 30, 2007 at 8:14 pm #

    of course your fridge going on the fritz came 30 days after I had the run in with my old landlord about my fridge. I ended up giving the darn thing to revivals and I would have been more happy giving it to you two!

  2. Calypso July 30, 2007 at 11:00 pm #

    4 weeks until your wedding? That means you are getting married before me then. Sending you many, many best wishes from this side of the pond, and I hope you will be posting photos! Can’t wait to see them.

  3. Nora August 1, 2007 at 4:04 am #

    Hi,
    I am an old friend of Doug’s that had lost touch with him and found him on Facebook recently. We were friends in Tucson at ASU, my husband and I were very fond of him. He gave me the link to your blog when I asked about you. Congratulations on the impending nuptials. I hope you get some relief from the heat soon. We are getting Monsoons here in New Mexico and so at least some days are cloudy, but then again we get some humidity which neither me or my hair is used to. Maybe I can get some knitting help from you once I learn the basics, I am still trying to get past the first row, I just started this week.

    Nora White

Leave a Reply

