Deathly Hallows

26 Jul

Ok. So I wasn’t going to buy the new Harry Potter book. I had signed up for it from the library (197th in the cue) 2 months ago. But somehow I just couldn’t resist.

It was easy at first to ignore the hype and not want the book, but while I was in the airport in DC last week I kept seeing people with it tucked (as much as something that big can be) under their arms. Sticker shock aside, I felt the pull of the tome, unable to control myself, much like someone under the Imperius Curse.

I caved.

I knew it’d only be a matter of time before the spoilers started coming out, before people would discuss the book on the net and in their blogs. It took me a little over a day to read (being stuck on a plane for 7 hours helped, of course) but the deed is done. I’ve finished the book.

I cried at the end, not just because of the ending (which I would never reveal to others, except Doug who hasn’t read the books and is not as invested in them) but because of the many hours of light-hearted fun and reading pleasure I have had.

Once I finished it, I felt like I was saying goodbye to an old friend.

2 Responses to “Deathly Hallows”

  1. cheekytart August 16, 2007 at 3:07 am #

    me too…i couldn’t read it fast enough, yet i also didn’t want to finish it either knowing this was the last.

  2. Christina-san August 17, 2007 at 5:09 am #

    I actually read the deathly hallows, pretty good but so long! I got caught up with all the excitement too. Wanted to know what happened to Harry! I actually got the whole collection, I am kind of reading the series backwards. Started with book 6, then 7, now I am going onto book 5. It’s fun, maybe someday when Naomi is older, she might like to read them.

Leave a Reply

