The Wormhole

10 Jul

I’m convinced that we have a wormhole in our apartment, that is, something that transports things from this point in time and space to another, alternate universe. I say this because recently things have been disappearing without a trace.

At first I thought it was simply a gremlin or two, like the little creature “Not Me” in the Bill Keane comic, Family Circus. But now I’ve come to realize that there is no other explanation — someplace in our apartment there is a wormhole. Not a stationary one, mind you, but one that twists and turns with the cool summer night breezes.

The first hint of the wormhole was when Doug was looking for a DVD, The Scent of Green Papaya. We had just eaten Asian food, the night was warm, but not too hot, and somehow the lure of the poetic cinematography and stillness in the film was something we both craved. He had just organized his DVDs but the film was nowhere to be found. Not with the other DVDs, not on the desk. It was simply gone.

The next thing to go was our wedding planning book called Cheap Ways To Tie the Knot. The last time I had seen it was when I was working on invitation wording. One of my books is still there but this one is missing.
Last night it was one of Doug’s contact lenses.

But, sadly, the major thing to disappear in the apartment is my cat, Machan. The last time we saw her was on Sunday — she was under the bed. We left in the mid-afternoon for a movie and when we got back 3 hours later, she wasn’t there. We searched all her favorite hiding places, closets, everything. Still no sign. She’s been known to hide away in the closet every now and again for a half a day or so, and so I didn’t really worry until yesterday morning when she still hadn’t appeared. She’s a noisy little creature, and after tearing apart everything we had organized over the past 2 months, we came to the conclusion that she was definitely not in the apartment.

But, she’s not outside our apartment either.

See, Machan is a scaredy-cat. Whenever she sees someone coming, she runs under the furniture. If she ventures outside, it’s only when we are watching her, slinking against the wall, going a few yards only to get spooked by some random noise and come running back. I can’t imagine that if she did get out, she would have stayed out long. We would’ve heard her whines or she would’ve been sitting outside the door.

There is no rational explanation for her disappearance, especially since the door was closed and neither one of us saw her sneaking out.

After 11 years, 2 continents and 3 homes, I hope she comes back. I keep thinking that maybe wormholes can work the opposite way, bringing us back the things that are most dear to us which we have lost to their energetic force field.

7 Responses to “The Wormhole”

  1. Mia July 10, 2007 at 9:09 pm #

    I hope everything and everyone shows up. No kitty food being eaten or deposits int he litter box? There might be a hole somewhere where Machan is stuck.

  2. teresa July 10, 2007 at 11:06 pm #

    Maybe she ventured through the wormhole to retrieve your lost items? But seriously, I’m sorry to hear the news and hope she makes it back safe and sound.

  3. christina-san July 11, 2007 at 1:50 pm #

    I had 2 cats many moons ago and one day the boy cat, suddenly disappeared. What happened was my Mom went outside for a moment, leaving the door open just a crack and my mom was his favorite, he’d follow her everywhere. He got out and was missing for a few days. He was a scaredy-cat too, but one night he was meowing, more like a screeching meow and we found him under a car all scared! Did you check the local animal shelters?

  4. Bice July 11, 2007 at 3:01 pm #

    I hope you find her! We have a “snarfle-widget” who takes things, but you can usually get them back by offering something else (“I’ll give you this shiny broken watch if you’ll bring my shoes back… I’ll leave it right here…”) He’s never taken a pet before, though!
    Seriously, that’s weird and upsetting and I hope you find her very soon!

  5. Rina July 11, 2007 at 5:06 pm #

    Hope you find your cat! When I was young, our golden retriever puppy disappeared one morning. After much searching we found her stuck between the dog house and a wall. It was odd that she had stayed so quiet, not barking or whining for help. Like christina-san says, checking the shelter might be a good idea too.

  6. Kelly July 12, 2007 at 6:23 pm #

    Hey, I just thought – you didn’t move all that long ago, and cats really do have that “homing instinct” thing – if she did get out and got confused, she might have tried to get “home”, so checking the shelter or shelters and posting pics along that route might help. I had a cat when I was a kid that crossed the whole city to get back to our old house when we moved, and our neighbors at the old place spotted him and let us know.

  7. Tiffany July 12, 2007 at 10:52 pm #

    If there is any tearing in the box spring lining, check there. My cat would hid under there and I’d look high and low for the sucker…Hope you find your kitty.

Leave a Reply

