His, Mine and Ours

5 Jun

I’m convinced boxes grow. Not merely sprout, but actually have creepers that slink across the living room silently, stealthily and then, in the small corner behind the lamp next to the sofa, BURST out so that there are at least 2 or 3 more boxes.

Sigh…

At least I can see the floor now. Yesterday was a turning point — I uncovered my now long neglected (3 weeks, maybe more) spinning wheel box and found places for most of my fibery things.

Recently I’ve been reminded of the (original of course!) movie, “Yours, Mine and Ours” with Lucille Ball and Henry Fonda. Take two thirty-somethings both with one-bedroom apartments full of things such as DVDs (Doug’s passion), Fiber (my passion) and Books (both of our passions) and try to fit them into one of your one-bedroom apartments and what do you get?

Boxes. And

More boxes.

Just when I empty one box, I turn around and there’s another. And, of course, there’s the question of where to put things once the box is emptied (those things seem to magically multiply too…) Part of me just wants to throw everything away, but then again, what would I do without my collection of books, fiber and art supplies? Being the craft-addict that I am, If I threw or gave them away…

I know that I’d just wind up buying more!

6 Responses to “His, Mine and Ours”

  1. Rina June 5, 2007 at 8:09 pm #

    geckogrrl — how exciting that you’re creating a new household with your partner! Moving is a total drag, I know. Isn’t it amazing to realize how much you own once it’s all out of the closets and cupboards? And it creates odd opportunities to ponder the meaning of life as you go through old possessions you haven’t looked at since… the last time you moved. Anyway, good luck unpacking, and settling into a new life🙂

  2. Sacha June 6, 2007 at 12:45 am #

    It’s a yucky experience, but on the other hand, it is liberating to get rid of things you don’t need anymore. A fresh start.🙂

  3. mom June 6, 2007 at 3:43 am #

    Being a veteran of moving a million times, your box story is really true! Ever see the Star Trek episode, Trouble with Tribbles? Same as boxes…..good luck!

  4. Katy June 6, 2007 at 8:51 pm #

    I love that movie! It’s one of my favorites. I’m not a huge fan of the remake, though.

    Boxes are like bunnies…they just keep on multiplying!

  5. Kelly June 7, 2007 at 3:10 pm #

    It’s not just boxes, it’s stuff generally. It doesn’t matter if you clear it out, it’s a law of science: ‘Stuff’ expands to fill the space provided plus one room. I think that goes double for books!

  6. geckogrrl June 8, 2007 at 10:50 pm #

    Thanks! As of today there are decidedly fewer boxes around, thank goodness! Maybe one day we’ll be able to actually vacuum again!

Leave a Reply

