Tagged Too

17 May

Ingrid just tagged me the other day. I’ll have to think of people to tag (many of the blogs I read have been tagged already and I don’t want to double tag them…) But here are 8 random things about me:

1. I’ve lived in two countries that no longer exist: the Soviet Union (study abroad in Moscow) and Czechoslovakia (taught in Slovakia).

2. I sometimes still get carded (when I touch up my roots, that is). One time last year I forgot my ID at Trader Joe’s (supermarket) and the guy wouldn’t sell to me.

3. I brought my neurotic cat, Machan, all the way from Japan with me. I got her 3 weeks after I arrived in Japan — had to trek out to the country while it poured rain just to to get to her shelter to pick her up.

4. I used to sell my artwork (woodblock prints and crocheted purses) on Venice Beach during the summers and hang out with the funky tarot card readers and massage people.

5. I randomly meet people I know all the time: I met a guy I went to grad school with in the San Francisco airport 6 years after graduation; someone I went to high school with on top of a mountain at a ski resort; a grammar school friend in a video store in Monterey, CA…. (the list actually goes on…)

6. Although I’m not into sports, I’m a devoted Baltimore Orioles fan.

7. I was born in Montreal, Canada during an ice storm.

8. I’ve been mistaken for many different ethnic groups/nationalities: Israeli, Spanish, Irish, Polish, Czech, Greek, Slovak, Russian, Japanese & Thai (yep, got asked if I had an American dad and Asian mom a lot when I traveled). Had to explain to people in Asia all the time that there are other ethnicities out there where people are short with dark hair and dark eyes!

8 Responses to “Tagged Too”

  1. Sacha May 18, 2007 at 12:22 am #

    Do you have photos of your woodblock print art?

    I think it’s really awesome that you’ve been to so many places. I’ve been to Iceland myself, but I’d like to visit Japan and Germany someday.

  2. ingrid May 18, 2007 at 1:26 am #

    I would love to see both your print art and crocheted purses too.
    I’ve caught the travel bug after our trip to Europe last year. Your travels sound amazing to me. My husband and I are saving for a trip to Asia next year.

  3. myhobbyisyarn May 19, 2007 at 1:38 am #

    That’s cool that you’ve lived in so many places! I told my husband, I really want to move to Hungary to teach English. And someday, when I get up the money and the guts for the long plane ride, I’m going to Japan.
    Add me to the list of people who want to see your woodblock prints!

  4. ruthsplace May 21, 2007 at 9:22 am #

    Glad to see I’m not the only one to move a cat between countries. We shifted ours from Australia to South Africa.

  5. geckogrrl May 24, 2007 at 8:47 pm #

    Wow, Australia to South Africa is quite the move! Now my cat is so freaked that even 30 miles is scary for her!

    One day I’ll do a good scan of my prints. I have an old set of scans somewhere and might post them although they’ll look a little grainy…

    I hope all of you who want to travel get to do so! Japan, Hungary and Germany are all really cool places (I especially love the Japanese and Hungarian spas — so much fun!)

  6. cheekytart May 25, 2007 at 2:13 am #

    thanks for tagging me, geckogrrl! i love reading all these random facts about people. what a lucky cat you have – to travel to japan with you. i totally agree about the joys of travel. it’s wonderful to immerse and absorb yourself into another culture and world.

  7. cheekytart May 25, 2007 at 2:15 am #

    oh, i see machan came from japan back to the states with you – not the other way round! either way, what a cosmopolitan kitty! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So hot… « All In A Day’s…. - July 30, 2007

    […] got tagged by Kate at Kniterations to write about 8 random things. I’ve done that in a previous post, so if anyone out there hasn’t done this meme, feel free to tag yourself on my […]

Leave a Reply

