Just When I Thought The Yuppies Had Taken Over…

4 May

So, in a few weeks I’ll be leaving my bohemian enclave of Venice Beach, moving a little futher east where things and people are more settled and ‘normal’. Part of me is sad to leave the beach and it’s strangeness, but then again, Venice is changing all too rapidly — something I was lamenting on my way back from the drugstore with my 2 rolls of packing tape today when….

I saw a guy dressed cabaret-style on stilts.

Ok, having lived here for almost 7 years I’m used to the odd, so at first I didn’t think anything of it when….

I saw another guy dressed cabaret-style on stilts.

I was beginning to think that this wasn’t just a random thing, that there was actually something going on down the street. I knew a crew was filming on the beach today (which is basically an everyday occurrence here) but a cast on stilts….

How Cool!

stilt guy on horse

It turns out the Dresden Dolls were filming their latest video. Being a little out of it in terms of indy music these days, I have never heard of them, but read up on them when I got home and really think they are pretty cool — reminiscent of the punk/indy college music I loved in the 80’s. They were doing the video for the song “Shores of California” (what better place than Venice to tape???)

Here are a few more shots of the shoot and the cast…

getting ready for the shoot

The Shoot

stilt hopping

 

stilt guys

 

Cast


Technorati Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Just When I Thought The Yuppies Had Taken Over…”

  1. Rina May 4, 2007 at 6:45 am #

    Cabaret on stilts, how cool… You live in Venice Beach? That is one of my favorite places in LA. I used to live in West LA when I was doing my Master’s. I love Venice Beach b/c it’s one of the few truly urban public spaces in LA, even if it is a tourist trap.

  2. Michelle May 4, 2007 at 1:49 pm #

    I can totally see the Dresden Dolls having Caberet on stilts in their video. How cool that you got to see that!

  3. Kelly May 5, 2007 at 11:10 am #

    The Dresden Dolls are great, and that sounds like a heck of a fun thing to come home to!
    Plus, thanks for the great pics, I have to make a pair of stilt pants for a guy who is putting some kind of cabaret show together for Pride this year, and all he could find for source was a blurry video! LOL

  4. oh! i'm so jealous! May 24, 2007 at 11:40 pm #

    Oh I love the Dresden Dolls! LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!

  5. Johnnie May 24, 2007 at 11:42 pm #

    whoops – i’m new at this posting
    i may have messed my last posting up – i’m so computer NON-savvy
    I’ve never seent eh Dresden Dolls in person or on video but i love their music
    those are the best pics!

Leave a Reply

