Aching To Get Behind The Wheel

19 Apr

So, before the magic egg incident, I did have some fibery crafty news to share. I was all planned to tell my mom the weekend after ‘it’ happened, although I had a certain amount of caution mixed with elation, not sure if she’d be happy about my news or ‘tsk’ at it. For, 4 days before my world changed so completely….

I got a wheel.

It was about a week after the anniversary of my dad’s death and I had a little cash tucked away that was from him. I was surfing at my local fiber shop, Stick and Stone Fiber Arts, just for kicks when I saw that they had a Clemens and Clemens wheel for sale for only $125. I had been debating about getting a wheel, since I really love my spindle, but I’d also like to spin larger amounts of fiber at a time, so I impulsively got into my car and drove on up there.

Needless to say I didn’t get the Clemens and Clemens since someone else had already claimed it. But I did come home with the long-time (or at least since I’ve been spinning) object of my desire – a Lendrum…

Wheel 2

I was so excited! Here was something I could try out that actually fit in my tiny apartment. Even though my dad wasn’t into fiber stuff, I think he would’ve appreciated my spending a little on a passion that I had, so it felt like a nice way to honor his memory.

The only thing is that since April 8, I haven’t had the time to use it. Between taxes (took me two and a half days this year, the tax people I tried out were useless), working 3 jobs, and wedding planning (gasp, never thought I’d say those two words!), I haven’t been able to ‘get behind the wheel’ at all.

When I told my mom about it in the middle of last week she was psyched and asked why I hadn’t said anything earlier. Well, I said, you know there were much more important things to talk about than a simple wheel, namely the beginning of a new part of my life.

Even though I haven’t had a chance to really use my wheel yet, it’s ok, because a wheel lasts for a lifetime –I’ll be able to use it for a long time. But, I’ll only get engaged once!

Technorati Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Aching To Get Behind The Wheel”

  1. Molly April 19, 2007 at 5:53 pm #

    I am clueless when it comes to spinning, but I think it would be something I’d like to try one day. Congrats on your new purchase 🙂

  2. Kelly April 19, 2007 at 6:41 pm #

    oooh, congratulations and excitement for you, tinged with just a teensy bit of jealousy to make it spicy! 🙂 I hope you have a chance to play with it soon, I bet it’ll be fun. Can’t wait to see what you make!

  3. Katy April 19, 2007 at 8:27 pm #

    I’m just starting to step into the world of spinning. I’ve got my first roving but am on the hunt for a spindle.

    One of these days, I’ll actually get one as a wheel is just not in the budget right now.

    In any case, how cool that you got a wheel!

  4. Rina April 19, 2007 at 10:17 pm #

    I don’t know anything about spinning but that wheel is beautiful! Hope you get to try it out soon.

  5. Em April 20, 2007 at 5:20 pm #

    I am so very jealous! That wheel is lovely — have you named it yet? You’ll have to let me know what it’s like to spin somehting that’s really not supposed to drop!

    Congrats again on the engagement. Don’t let the planning turn you into a “bridezilla”! Are you going to be knitting a shawl?

  6. geckogrrl April 20, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    Thanks, Em!
    Actually I don’t know if I’ll name the wheel. Spinning on it is a totally different experience, though…

    Luckily I don’t have enough money to be a bridezilla and hopefully, once I get the colors down (thinking lavender y gray and green) I’ll probably make a shawl (maybe crochet one because it’s fast…)

  7. teresa April 22, 2007 at 6:08 pm #

    Congratulations on the wheel – it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

