So Little Time… (To blog, that is)

15 Apr

I have had a lot of random and not so random thoughts running through my head this week. But, it’s tax season (I owe, major stress) and I started teaching a training seminar this week (8 hours almost straight a day), so I think I’ll keep this short (or rather, ‘vertically challenged’ if I’m being PC).

First, I just got the edited copy back of an article I wrote about being a beginning spinner. It’ll be published in Spinner’s Quarterly. More on that as the publishing date gets nearer. It’s my first fiber-art editorial/reflective type piece being published, so I’m pretty stoked.

Next, I haven’t had a chance to do much crafty stuff this week (what with ring, work, and aforementioned taxes…). But I do have a few pics of some finished spinning. I call it my ” almost Dr. Seuss” colors. I really wanted to go for a bright neony green and purple, but this is what I got…

Purple & green dr. seuss

It didn’t turn out as expected — the purple mutes the green and because there is so much color variation in the purple, I’m glad that I only spun up this sample (plyed on a heavy spindle…)

So then I decided to dye some neon blue (using Koolaid — I think Berry Blue) and ply the green and blue together. This is closer to what I really wanted…

Koolaid blue green dr. seuss

(The color isn’t completely true in the photo, but in real life it looks pretty cool.)

The purple singles had so many rich variations that I decided just to ply it onto itself (and got about 100 yards). Unfortunately I had already wound it into a ball before I realized that I wanted a picture of it. But, here it is…

purple dr. seuss
(Fairly close to true colors.)

So, that’s it for now. Until taxes are done I’m on a self-imposed crafting diet (or, rather fast). It’s hard, since my hands are aching to get cracking on the back of a sweater I started 10 days ago (with free yarn, the best kind!), some spinning and a couple of pairs of socks.

But what can I do? If I don’t work, I don’t get paid, but then again if I don’ t get paid, I wouldn’t have to pay taxes!

Hmmm…. What a conundrum. Hey, maybe doing my projects isn’t such a bad idea after all???!

5 Responses to “So Little Time… (To blog, that is)”

  1. Rina April 15, 2007 at 7:26 am #

    Beautiful colors! Especially like the blue-green and the purple, one of my favorite colors. The Purple and Green Dr. Seuss isn’t showing up. WordPress has been giving me problems with pics too; but I re-loaded and that seemed to take care of it.

    I so want to learn how to spin but I think that would be the end of my hands and wrists. I’ll content myself with teaching myself how to make a sweater with my Bond knitting machine for now–well, in a few weeks.

  2. Kelly April 15, 2007 at 11:31 am #

    I saw the purple and green, and I like it unreasonably much. I think it’s a texture thing, but it’s hard to tell because I DO think purple and green belong together…
    Congrats on the article!

  3. Em April 18, 2007 at 3:19 pm #

    I like the purple-and-green! Isn’t Kool-aid dying fun?

    I’d really like to read your article! Also, how does one go about pursuing publications like that? I’d be very interested in knowing more of the process of going from “hey, I do this, I could write about it” to published product.

  4. Jeanne April 19, 2007 at 12:41 am #

    Congratulations on being published! How exciting! I love the colors on the yarn – especially the Dr. Suess…

  5. geckogrrl April 19, 2007 at 4:14 pm #

    Thanks, you all! The purple and green turned out ok, but not quite as I would have liked (the perfectionist in me rearing its ugly head, I guess!)
    Em,
    In terms of pursuing publications, I had a piece that I wrote and just started looking on-line for different print and on-line magazines. I checked out what their submission policies were and then sent a submission proposal to the publication that I thought would work best for my piece. I started out with SQ because they are smaller, and I really liked their choice of articles (about spinning, but also history or spirituality). I recommend finding something that interests you, doing a short piece to show people and then sending out emails. It may take a while, but the important thing is to get your foot in the door. (Also looking on Craigs list for freelance writing gigs is a great way to start writing for pay…)

Leave a Reply

