The Magic Easter Egg

9 Apr

Dyed eggs

I haven’t celebrated or done anything special for Easter since I lived in Czechoslovakia (where we threw water on the boys and got beaten by sticks and, of course, drank a lot…).

But, this year Doug ‘hatched’ a plan — dyeing Easter eggs.

I was down with it because mom had sent a link to a blog where a fiber artist had tried out the Martha’s technique for dying eggs using silk ties. Inspired by the chance to craft with the boyfriend (always fun with a fellow creative artistic person) I was all for dyeing something other than roving.

So, we waited in line at Goodwill for about 30 minutes to get silk ties. Doug went and got the eggs and some regular egg dye just for fun and when we got home from our movie Saturday night, we got down (not in that way) to business.

The silk eggs turned out really well. The first batch Doug hollowed out and the second batch I decided to mix and match fabrics for some visual interest…

silk eggs 2

We then did some plain ol’-fashioned dyeing (and I was tempted to put the left-over dye in the crockpot and dye up some roving, but restrained myself, it being 11 PM and all!)…

fde

It was fun and we had a great time. The next morning I was stoked to wake up and see our eggs glistening from their canola oil shellac. Life was almost ‘eggsactly’ (gotta get one cheesy expression in at least!) perfect, I thought nothing could top the feeling I had the moment I looked at the eggs we had created. That is, nothing until the arrival of the magic egg onto the scene….

The Tale of the Magic Egg

At about 10 AM, Doug says something about a magic egg being in our basket of eggs and that I should crack open one of the silk-dyed eggs to see what’s inside.

My first reaction was, “Like, if you want to eat an egg, why don’t you crack open one of the regular-dyed ones, since the silk ones are so pretty?”

Doug keeps on insisting on one of the silk-dyed eggs.

“But it took so long to dye these & they are so cool!”

No really, he says, it’s a magic egg!

(Ok. At this point, any self-respecting 30-something-dating-a- wonderful-guy-grrl would be a little suspicious, but no, not me. I can be a little thick-headed at times & the thought of breaking something created by crafting overrode any semblance of reason…)

“Is this a tradition that you grew up with or something? What is it with this magic egg bit?”

At this point, poor Doug’s getting pretty insistent and starting to look a little stressed.

“OK, we’ll do it, just part, so it’s not destroyed.”

I try to crack it, but can’t. (I’m freaked by the cracking-egg-thing having grown up on egg substitute all my life…)

“You crack it.”

No, Doug says, you’re supposed to crack it.

“I can’t.”

So, Doug takes it, cracks it a little and hands it to me.

“Eww. It’s gunky. Don’t get that gunk on the sofa!” (Boy, can I nag!)

Don’t mind the gunk. Just look inside.

“Oh. There’s something in there. Is it like part of a dead chick?” (Again, that fear of eggy things rearing it’s ugly head.) “You get it out!”

So, Doug takes the egg and pries loose whatever’s inside. It’s a bluish bit of something about the size of a matchstick. He asks for a toothpick and a pin to get it undone.

“Here, I’ll do it.”

We both tangle with whatever it is. By this time I’m finally beginning to clue into the fact that this might be something Doug actually put into the egg. (Yes, before my decaffeinated coffee, I am really clueless — it’s called the placebo effect…) I unwrap it and notice that there is the word “Katie” at the top in Doug’s writing and “love” somewhere else on the paper.

Lightbulb!

I think a few thoughts to myself ranging from…

“Boy, am I an idiot!” to….

“Oh, that’s why he wanted me to open the egg!” to…

“I gotta play this cool.” to…

“There’s eggy stuff on this piece of paper! Yuck!”

By this time Doug’s looking a little worried. Like his plan really isn’t working, or fearful that his note’ll be destroyed by gross wet egg-innards.

We manage to pull apart the rest of the note. It’s a little soggy but intact. Here it is…

 

Magic Egg 1

Ok. Now I’m kinda getting it. This is a romantic moment. Doug’s been trying so hard and I’ve been pretty uncooperative. We move over to the sofa and he asks…

THE QUESTION

Tears flow into my eyes. I’m a little overwhelmed (and the decaf is beginning to kick in…) My answer is…

OF COURSE!

Easter egg dyeing will never be the same again!

Technorati Tags: , , ,

32 Responses to “The Magic Easter Egg”

  1. teresa April 9, 2007 at 9:42 pm #

    Looks like I came to your blog at a great time. Congratulations!

  2. Ingrid April 10, 2007 at 1:03 am #

    Wow, now that’s one of the best Easter Egg stories I’ve heard. (and the eggs came out great to boot!) Congratulations!

  3. knilli April 10, 2007 at 1:04 am #

    What a fabulous story! Congrats!

  4. tracing April 10, 2007 at 1:21 am #

    Congratulations!

  5. Rina April 10, 2007 at 2:05 am #

    That is one of the most romantics things I have ever heard. Congratulations! Beautiful eggs, too.

  6. Sacha April 10, 2007 at 2:11 am #

    Congratulations.🙂 That will be a fun moment to remember.

  7. conspiracyknitorist April 10, 2007 at 3:59 am #

    Awww…what a great story! Congratulations!

  8. geckogrrl April 10, 2007 at 4:45 am #

    Thanks, ya’ll!! I’m sure there’ll be more funky tales to come (that is of my cluelessness!)

  9. Vicky April 10, 2007 at 10:01 am #

    Congratulations!!

  10. Sara April 10, 2007 at 12:35 pm #

    Oh WOW!! How exciting!! Congratulations!!!!What a lovely way to ask you😀

  11. Michelle April 10, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    That’s the most original proposal I think I’ve ever hear of – congrats!

  12. Carmen Pauls Orthner April 10, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    Awww… he’s a sweet boy, that one.🙂

    Carmen (a friend of Doug’s from the Beyond group).

  13. Em April 10, 2007 at 5:13 pm #

    Aww, that’s terribly sweet! Congratulations to you both! (And thanks for the tip about silk-dying, that’s just nifty.)

  14. kitkatknit April 10, 2007 at 5:51 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! That is just too cool! Now the question, will you celebrate the proposal date on April 8 every year, Easter every year, or both?

  15. artandtea April 10, 2007 at 5:59 pm #

    What a unique way to propose. It is a lovely story. Congratulations! BTW, I loooove the colors at the top of your page!

  16. Calypso April 10, 2007 at 8:37 pm #

    Congratulations!

    How lovely – what a wonderful proposal.

  17. Devon April 10, 2007 at 10:16 pm #

    Congratulations! The eggs look lovely despite what icky stuff that is inside. LOL

  18. elanknits April 11, 2007 at 2:15 am #

    Wow, congratulations, what a very inventive guy!

  19. myhobbyisyarn April 11, 2007 at 2:17 am #

    Congratulations! The eggs are beautiful, too.

  20. Kelly April 11, 2007 at 2:35 am #

    Congratulations! That’s so sweet… and kind of sticky and oogy. But creative, and very very sweet!

  21. Jen the Knittingspaz April 12, 2007 at 4:47 pm #

    Awww…. a very cute story. Congratulations! My DH didn’t think that far in advance and forgot to actually ASK the QUESTION until I reminded him that he hadn’t yet.

    I’m with you though… ewww! gunky egg innards!

  22. Angela April 12, 2007 at 6:53 pm #

    You were saying that Easter’s never been a big holiday for you . . . well now you’ve got the perfect reason to celebrate it every year and it will be extra special when the two of you are Martha-Stewart-silk-tie dying eggs with your kiddies!🙂 Congratulations again!

  23. Amy April 12, 2007 at 7:13 pm #

    …and I saw the ring today- it’s a perfect antique beauty! no sign of being hatched from an egg. What a great story to share! Congratulations again and see you soon!

  24. outdoorknitter April 13, 2007 at 2:42 pm #

    Congrats to you! What a sweet story, with a very happy ending!

  25. Allison Supercrafty April 13, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    Katie, I’m so happy for you! What a great proposal. Crafty and clever – just like you! Hugs, Allison

  26. Leslie April 13, 2007 at 8:54 pm #

    This is absolutely perfect! Best wishes!

  27. Taueret April 13, 2007 at 10:05 pm #

    OMG! That is so romantic. Congratulations. sniff!

  28. Janey April 16, 2007 at 3:00 am #

    Congrats … oops, no congratulating the lady.

    The congratulations are for Doug. I’ll bet he was sweating bullets by the time you clued in.

  29. Doug April 16, 2007 at 10:01 pm #

    No, Katie deserves all the congratulations. It’s not exactly routine to be asked to break open a “magic egg”! It was a bizarre request…

  30. Katy April 19, 2007 at 8:25 pm #

    Congrats!

  31. Sandy June 26, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    How romantic!! We look forward to seeing you and meeting this guy. oxox P.S. I love the eggs.

  32. Suzy March 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Two years later and I hope all is wedded bliss. Sorry for coming late with my congrats, but I was searching eggs and your blog came up and I couldn’t resist commenting on this happy occasion!

Leave a Reply

