One can only give so many scarves…. (or the belated b-day present)

5 Apr

So, I have this rule that I only make things for people I truly care about. In the past I’ve made the mistake of giving my woodblocks or crocheted (seldom knitted because of the time involved) things to people who have turned out to be uncaring or who no longer hold a special place in my life. This new rule has worked out well because I know that the things I so lovingly create will find a good home and will be truly appreciated.

The only thing is, just how many scarves do people need?

This year I ran into this dilemma. Each one of my girlfriends had been a proud recipient of at least one scarf and a woodblock print. What else was there that I could give them? I wanted something that would look cool but would also not take too much time away from my other projects.

I found the answer while surfing on Crochet Me – jewelry. I had tried working with wire before and whatever I did looked like something a 5-year-old could slap together. But I found the pattern It’s Electric, and I was so (ahem…) wired. I mean, here was something I could make that was simple, elegant and yet wouldn’t take hours of work.

So, I did a trial run on a set of jewelry for my mom. (The necklace was cool, but the earrings are probably a little over-bearing. Oh well, mom’s pretty cool about receiving experiments.) The next person to get something was Dalit. I had found some really nice beads that matched her eyes. Then there was Rae. I originally had purchased two sets of beads, one, a set of deep shimmery brown for another friend, but decided the brown would look best on Rae. The last person on my list was Stef. I had really wanted a garnet color for her, but have been at a loss finding something — just like most yarns, the colors tend to be too red or orange.

Luckily Stef had a kid recently and has been pre-occupied because I didn’t make her gift in time for her b-day.

In fact, I didn’t finish it until two days ago….

jewelry

(The earring pattern came from the book “Wire Jewellery” by Kate Pullen)

See, (yes, this is part excuse & part justification) it was hard to find beads that worked. I searched and searched for them. Finally I found some blue beads in the garmet district here in LA (the only place to get reasonably priced beads, I have to say..). But, lord knows when I’ll see her again because, as with most friends who are new parents, it’s hard to keep up with each other. I understand her situation completely, but I still miss her company.

So, by the time she gets this, it might be for the next b-day. 8) But, after all, it’s the thought that counts, isn’t it?

Technorati Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “One can only give so many scarves…. (or the belated b-day present)”

  1. Moe April 6, 2007 at 11:18 am #

    I tend to mostly knit for myself for that reason. It is really difficult to knit garments for others (and most people wouldn’t really “get” the concept of how special a handknit is). I like to knit for a few select people in my life though – mostly hats, scarves, and mittens. I need to start knitting more mittens.

    I love your amigurumi! Awesome tutorials!

  2. Moe April 6, 2007 at 11:34 am #

    ps. I put a link to your amigurumi tutorials on our SnB blog, Knitting Out Loud

  3. geckogrrl April 6, 2007 at 3:23 pm #

    I’m with you, Moe. I have so many friends who knit whole sweaters for others — not me! (Mittens are on my list next too….)

    Glad you liked the tutorials!

  4. ingrid April 6, 2007 at 10:49 pm #

    The jewelry is really nice. My sister makes jewelry but I’d never thought of knitting the wire. Is it actually wire or really flexible like fishing line? I think most of what I’ve knitted I’ve given away but that isn’t saying much yet. I have a whole list of gifts to make for Christmas this year but I’m sure next year appreciation for hand-knitted gifts will decrease. I think the knitted jewelry is a fantastic idea and still makea it hand-made which I personally think is more impressive and thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

