The Sakura Brothers: Amigurumi Tutorial #1 for Knitters

30 Mar

SB hanging out

The coming of spring where I grew up (outside of Washington, DC) always meant cherry blossoms. They signaled that the winters were over and that there were only about 2 more months left of good weather before the hot muggy summers began. In Japan I loved cherry blossom season, walking along the banks of the Shukugawa River under the bowers of the cherry trees, the blossoms carpeting the ground like a blanket of soft pink snow.

Since there aren’t many cherry trees here in LA, I thought I’d create something to remind me of the energizing transition from winter to spring that I often long for (here in LA most of the year is spring…). And thus, the Sakura (Cherry) Brothers were born.

The red cherry, Suppai-kun (bitter) suppai is a little upset since he was made with really old yarn from my first knitted sweater project 16 years ago. His little brother, Amai-kun (sweet), however, is a much happier fellow hanging around without a care in the world being made out of a bright Naturespun wool.

I had been wondering how I could translate a crochet amigurumi pattern into a knitted one. After seeing the envious faces of the knitters in my Tuesday night Stitch and Bitch group who don’t crochet, I thought it would be good to write up a few basic patterns, which are more like tutorials, for designing knitted amigurumi. Many of the vintage patterns I have can be a little hard to follow for beginners, and the design principles of amigurumi are pretty basic. It’s just a matter of getting a few simple shapes down and the rest is simply creating more rows between increases and decreases to generate new shapes and sizes.

So, here it is – Amigurumi Knit Tutorial #1 – Heads

Most amigurumi are knit in the round and based on a circle that’s been divided into 6, so the number of stitches for each increase or decrease should be a number that is divisible by 6. The width of the head simply depends on the type of yarn used, the size of the needles and the final number of stitches at the circumference (most larger toys are generally 48-60 stitches). Even though I had followed a lot of patterns before, it wasn’t until I saw a diagram in a Japanese book that’s similar to my very basic one below that I finally ‘got’ how many stitches to increase and decrease and when…

circle scan

Each small circle represents the total number of stitches on each odd numbered round after the increase, based on 6 increases per round. To make a larger head, simply knit more stitches before each increase (30 would be K3, inc 1; 36 K4, inc 1, etc…). The decreases are simply the reverse of the increases except that the decrease is made before the knit stitches.

So, here’s the basic pattern in knit-ese for Suppai-kun. (Amai-kun was simply knit on smaller needles with one less increase…)

Yarn: Wool, Wool-Blend, and Cotton-Acrylic blends. Also acrylic yarns with a little fuzz work well for knitted objects (makes the increases and decreases look more subtle).

Needles: 4 DPN size 6 or 7

CO 6 sts, place 2 sts on 3 DPN
Rnds1 & 2: k6
Rnd 3: M1 every st (6 inc made, 12 sts)decreasing 2
Rnd 4 & every even rnd: k
Rnd 5: k1, M1 (6 times, 18 sts)
Rnd 7: k2, M1 (6 times, 24 sts)
Rnd 9: k3, M1 (6 times, 30 sts)
Rnds 10-12: k
Rnd 13: k2tog, k 3 (6 times, 24 sts)
Rnd 15: k2tog, k 2 (6 times, 18 sts)
Rnd 17: k2tog, k1 (6 times, 12 sts)
Rnd 19: k2tog 6 times (6 sts)

Cut yarn, leaving a 2 inch tail. Stuff with batting or polyfill. Using yarn needle, thread tail through rem sts & tighten. The head is done!

The stem was simply a 3 st i-cord tied into a knot and sewn onto the top of the head.

Add felt, crocheted or pipe cleaner/wire arms and legs. Embroider a face or use buttons/felt or googly-eyes to embellish. The ends can easily be hidden away inside of your creature, and that’s it! (Remember to embroider embellishments if you are giving these away to small children.)

With just this basic shape, it’s possible to make a variety of little guys, adding embellishments and such to give each its own character.

Sakura Bros

Next tutorial: Bodies

Technorati Tags: , , ,

22 Responses to “The Sakura Brothers: Amigurumi Tutorial #1 for Knitters”

  1. Sacha March 30, 2007 at 3:40 am #

    I love it. Seriously. His face…is so cute. I miss going to the cherry blossom festival in DC. There was definately something special about walking under the trees.

  2. knitplaywithfire March 30, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    These are much better than braving the crowds at the tidal basin. I will be waiting for thhe next installment.

  3. rebecca77 March 30, 2007 at 10:36 pm #

    You are incredible!! This is great, well done. This is what we need here in the drought….

  4. geckogrrl March 30, 2007 at 10:47 pm #

    Thanks, you all! I hope you get a chance to try these tutorials & let me know how they turn out (and what I can do to make them better…)

  5. myhobbyisyarn April 2, 2007 at 12:41 am #

    Thanks for making one of these patterns for knitters! I can’t crochet to save my life, but I really wanted to make some Amigurumi toys for my kids.

  6. Calypso April 3, 2007 at 9:32 am #

    Thanks so much for posting that diagram – all of a sudden I understood what it was I was doing with my amigurumi and it’s so much easier now. And quicker too, now that I can just count stitches rather than use a marker.

  7. geckogrrl April 4, 2007 at 6:35 am #

    Glad it helped! Crochet patterns really started making sense to me once I saw them diagrammed out (although the Japanese diagrams were a little intense!). I just never got when to increase or decrease or what was happening. With smaller shapes I count and do find it is easier & that if I make a mistake it is also easier to go back and start over again… =)

  8. gecko girl's mom April 5, 2007 at 2:30 am #

    Love ‘em. Cute as pie- cherry pie!

  9. geckogrrl April 5, 2007 at 5:18 pm #

    Thanks, mom! (As usual, your wit cracks me up!)

  10. mshanane June 9, 2007 at 6:45 pm #

    I love these little cherries. FYI Thanks for stopping by our blog. I have been by yours many times but never left a comment. Sorry about that.

    Hanane

  11. Aly October 7, 2007 at 10:29 pm #

    I was wondering if I could post this on my blog; I’m trying to collect a ton of different amigurumi-style patterns for knitters.

  12. geckogrrl October 8, 2007 at 7:38 pm #

    Hey Aly, definitely feel free to post this. I know how hard it is to get patterns for knitters and my hope was to help knitters also learn how to design amigurumi…

  13. The Cadence Factor!The Cadence Factor! May 11, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    What i don’t realize is in fact how you are no longer really a lot more smartly-preferred than you might be right now. You’re very intelligent.

    You recognize thus significantly on the subject of
    this topic, made me personally consider it from numerous numerous angles.
    Its like women and men don’t seem to be interested until it’s one thing to accomplish with
    Lady gaga! Your own stuffs nice. Always handle it up!

  14. ขายบุหรี่ไฟฟ้า June 14, 2014 at 12:55 am #

    You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I find this topic to be really one thing which I feel I’d by no means understand.

    It kind of feels too complex and extremely large for me. I am having a look
    forward to your subsequent post, I’ll try to
    get the hold of it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kumochan: Amigurumi Tutorial #2 for Knitters « All In A Day’s…. - April 3, 2007

    [...] had promised last week in the tutorial about heads that I’d add another one this week about making bodies for knitted amigurumi dolls, and here it [...]

  2. ••> The Point Knitting Cafe: Knitting news Crochet news by NYC best Knitting and Yarn Shop - April 5, 2007

    [...] The Sakura Brothers Knit Pattern and Tutorial – Link. [...]

  3. First things first » Blog Archive » Knitting links galore - June 12, 2007

    [...] but most patterns out there are for crochet, not knitting. Here’s a tutorial for knitted sakura (cherry) brothers, and here’s one for a little knit [...]

  4. Three More — The Swap Is All Filled Up | Crafty Daisies - April 25, 2008

    [...] Gecko Girl’s Cherry Amigurumi [...]

  5. 15,000 hits… « All In A Day’s…. - June 23, 2008

    [...] 2008 Thanks to all of you for reading my blog. I just wanted to post that one of my tutorials, The Sakura Brothers – Amigurumi Tutorial #1 for Knitters, has now reached more than 15,000 hits! Amazing that so many people have read and linked to this [...]

  6. Amigurumi / Tiere häkeln und stricken - Linkliste | Kostenlose-Schnittmuster.de - September 12, 2008

    [...] Amigurumi 13 – weitere Seite [...]

  7. » Knitting Bee – Free knitting tutorials – Free knitting patterns - February 10, 2010

    [...] KnitsFrom geckogrrl come these funny little cherries!Get the free knitting tutorial here: link food , knitting Amigurumi No CommentsShareLeave a [...]

  8. EL ARTE DEL CROCHET: UNA FORMA DE VESTIR « LA BOLSA DEL MERCADER - September 15, 2011

    [...] en breve. Para aquellos que no quieran moverse de casa, navegando un poco también encontrarán tutoriales online, aunque suelen estar en [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

